Ceylon Association of Shipping Agents conducts 56th AGM


Ceylon Association of Shipping Agents (CASA), the voice of the shipping industry and the apex body that represents shipping in Sri Lanka, tracing its roots back to 1944, held its 56th Annual General Meeting on 9 September at the Balmoral hall of The Kingsbury Hotel amidst a large and representative gathering of over 500 participants.

Ports, Shipping and Aviation Minister Nimal Siripala De Silva graced the occasion as the Chief Guest, and Power and Energy Minister Kanchana Wijesekera, Ports, Shipping and Aviation Ministry Secretary K.D.S. Ruwanchandra and Sri Lanka Ports Authority Managing Director Upul Jayatissa attended as Guests of Honour.

Mclarens Holdings Group Managing Director Shehara De Silva was re-elected for the second consecutive year as the first woman chairperson of CASA for the period 2022/2023 whilst Hayleys Advantis Ltd. Deputy Managing Director Shano Sabar and Asha Shipping Ltd. Executive Vice President Janesh Ratnadasa were elected Vice Chairman and Treasurer respectively.

The Executive Committee elected for the period 2022/2023 comprises Aitken Spence Shipping Ltd., Ceyline Agencies Ltd., Hemas Maritime Ltd., Inchcape Mackinnon Mackenzie Ltd., Malship (Ceylon) Ltd., Marine International Agencies Ltd., Penguin Shipping Enterprises Ltd., Setmil United Cargo Ltd. and Simatech Marine Lanka Ltd.

In addition to the usual proceedings of the AGM a new feature was the CASA Young Leader Awards. The CASA Young Leader Awards 2022 was planned, in association with YoungShip, to recognise the high achieving youth within the shipping fraternity who have gone above and beyond their usual realm of duties to achieve excellence. The Young Leader Awards are presented under 3 categories, namely: Young Leader in Sales Excellence, Young Leader in Support Service Excellence, and Young Leader in Operational Excellence.

Kirk Baldsing from Hapag Lloyd Lanka emerged as the winner of the Young Leader in Sales Excellence award while Kanchana Bopitiya from Hapag Lloyd Lanka emerged as the winner of the Young Leader in Support Service Excellence award and finally the Young Leader in Operational Excellence was won by Prasanna Rathnayake from GAC Sri Lanka.

The eminent panel of judges who oversaw a rigorous selection process consisted of Prof. Indika Sigera, Dr. Sulochana Segera, Gayani De Alwis, H.D.A.S. Premachandra and Prof. Lalith Edirisinghe.

Worldlink Shipping donation